Eddie’s meatloaf; cheddar-and-caramelized-onion mashed potatoes; stir-fried baby broccoli; “Copper Pennies” (chilled marinated carrot coins with onions, yellow peppers, and a tomato vinaigrette); yeast rolls
Peach Cobbler
OK…well meatloaf in the middle of the summer may seem a bit out of season, but I kept thinking about “potluck dinners and family reunions” from my childhood that were held during the summer months and always included meatloaf. (And also the fact that meatloaf sandwiches would be really good packed for lunches during the coming week). That’s also the case with the marinated carrots, which is an old southern recipe that my Mom shared with me many years ago and I have always loved. And you really can’t have meatloaf without mashed potatoes can you? I’ve tried to add a bit of a “twist” with the cheddar cheese and caramelized onions.

