Since someone asked about the “Chez Edouard” pantry I offer the following, (which is not by any means a full compendium of my cupboards)! In an attempt to avoid redundancy, I must also relate that if at all possible, everything mentioned here is of organic origin. It is very rare that I purchase anything that is NOT organic and/or completely natural.

 In some cases, I have listed brand names, but this is not meant to “endorse” any one singular product…it simply means that I use these particular products and while I recommend them, you may very well find other organic or natural products in your area that are just as desirable.

“Dry” Staples:
Unbleached flour, whole-wheat flour, rye flour, and buckwheat flour
Kosher salt, Baleine sea salt (both fine and course crystals), Maldon salt
Whole black peppercorns
Extra virgin olive oil, canola oil, and peanut oil (the last for the rare occasions that I deep-fry)
Vinegars: white wine, red wine, cider, brown rice, aged balsamic
Organic cornmeal, grits, and rice from Anson Mills in South Carolina*
Dried pasta (macaroni, shells, etc.)
Dried beans and legumes: pintos, navy beans, Great Northern, French beans, cranberry beans and others from Purcell Mountain Farms** and Sea Island red peas from Anson Mills*
Nuts (my favorites are pecans, macadamias, and almonds)
Canned tomatoes (during the winter)
Granulated and brown sugars
Baking soda
Baking powder that doesn’t contain aluminum by-products (I use Rumford brand)
Yeast
White and rose wines, Marsala, Applejack brandy (or Calvodos), bourbon, rum, Chambord, Grand Marnier, beer
Spice rack: crushed red pepper flakes, whole nutmeg, cinnamon, allspice berries, cardamom, paprika, dill weed, cumin, ground savory, chili powder, ground coriander, ground cloves, rubbed sage, ground ginger, cayenne pepper, fennel seeds, bay leaves, ground mustard, saffron, turmeric, celery seed, whole cloves, powdered garlic
Flavorings: Vanilla beans, and vanilla, orange, and lemon extracts.

“Always on hand” perishable staples

Veggie and fruit basics: onions, garlic, shallots, celery, carrots, fresh herbs, fresh lemons and limes
Dairy basics: milk, butter, cheeses, sour cream, and organically-fed, cage-free eggs
Stocks: always keep chicken, beef, and vegetable stocks on hand (homemade when possible)
Condiments: Dijon-style, honey, and grainy mustards, ketchup, and something I will not apologize for here: Duke’s brand mayonnaise. The hard-core foodies out there will ask “why aren’t you making your own mayo from scratch?” My answer is that I grew up on this stuff, I love it, and that’s that. I do everything else from scratch, and if the company that makes this were to ever release the “secret” to their recipe, (which I doubt is going to happen), I would gladly make it at home.  

LINKS:
*ansonmills.com
**purcellmountainfarms.com

