When I was catering on a regular basis, I developed a soup recipe that combined roasted red peppers, tomatoes, and pears. I will never forget the time that I served small cups of this at an art gallery opening.  I had made several gallons which were being kept warm in crock pots; the tureens on the serving table being replenished as needed, which was quite often.  At the peak of the event, I realized I needed to refill the tureens and knew I had at least another gallon as back-up. I returned to the service area to discover that the final pot of soup was missing. In a panic, I reported to the gallery owner that there was a “problem.” She simply replied, “Don’t worry, this is the best soup I have ever had and I am keeping that pot for myself!” I quickly removed the tureens from the table and rearranged things to make it look like there were no “gaps” in the presentation, but lots of folks really wanted more, and all I could do was apologize and explain that I hadn’t realized how popular it would be at the event!

Roasted red pepper, tomato, and pear soup with aromatic vegetables pureed until smooth
Small salad; yeast roll
Pecan sandwich cookies

