I remember the first time I was away from my family for Thanksgiving. Our high school marching band had been invited to perform in the holiday parade in Charlotte, NC. This was a BIG deal for us, as it was to be televised and broadcast throughout the region. I guess because of that experience, I have never minded being away from home for this holiday. Unlike that experience though (when we stopped at a restaurant for dinner), I have always prepared a Thanksgiving meal for myself. I’m usually alone for this holiday, yet I always prepare some semblance of a “traditional” feast, and relish in the leftovers for several days afterward. I developed the base dressing recipe (my favorite part of the meal), many years ago and I change it somewhat each year. My mother always used a combination of cornbread, toasted wheat bread, and leftover biscuits, and that is what I do. She would not have used the other components I suggest here—but I love the combination of flavors. The Brussels sprouts recipe is inspired by one presented in Martha Stewart’s most recent book Martha’s Entertaining. The pie is something that I dreamed up involving a combination of apples and dried cranberries. You might say “where is the pumpkin?” Well, I will save that component for next year…stay tuned! And, Happy Thanksgiving all!

Spice-rubbed turkey breast roasted over aromatic vegetables with pan gravy
Bread dressing “Chez Edouard” with sun-dried tomatoes, onions, celery, red peppers, chanterelle mushrooms, and herbs
Sweet potato puree; Brussels sprouts with wild rice, pearl onions, and pecans; house-made pickled beets
Apple-cranberry pie

