Because so many folks have asked for this recipe, here it is…

When I was a child, my Mom almost always made this pie for the holiday season. It was a favorite of mine, and now, since my Mom has passed away and I am the one who prepares the holiday meals, I always make it for our family at Christmastime.
    As the base for any pie is its crust, I encourage you to try my piecrust recipe posted on September 9, 2011 (or just use the search feature for “pie crust”).  However, if you are not so inclined, then line a pie plate (preferably a Pyrex glass one), with a store-bought, refrigerated crust. Please do not use one of those frozen pie shells in an aluminum pie tin. If you do, I can’t vouch for the outcome of this recipe!
    And, please don’t be put off by the “secret ingredient” in this recipe. The small amount of cider vinegar is a necessary component. You will NOT taste it as a sour note. It is meant to “cut” the sweetness of the other ingredients and make everything more palatable and that is why this pie is such a success.

Line a 9-inch pie plate with your pie dough of choice and crimp the edges. Refrigerate while preparing the other components. Preheat the oven to 325°F.

Mix together :
½ cup (1 stick) melted butter, cooled but still fluid
1 cup sugar
2 eggs at room temperature

Beat with an electric mixer until the sugar is thoroughly combined and no longer granular, but do not overbeat.

Add and fold in:
½ cup golden raisins
½ cup sweetened shredded coconut
½ cup chopped pecans
1 tsp. cider vinegar

Pour into the pie shell and bake for 45-50 minutes until set and toothpick inserted in the middle of the pie comes out clean. Cool on a wire rack. Great served with vanilla ice cream!

It’s that simple folks! And guess what? I have my own special variation on this recipe that will be included in my forthcoming cookbook. Stay tuned!

