Rather than share menus, I am breaking with tradition and giving you some information about my food-related holiday preparations. This past Friday night was devoted to candy making. Three batches of “Eddie’s Secret Candy Recipe” was made, along with a non-secret peppermint bark. I did however drizzle my white chocolate bark with melted semisweet chocolate to add a bit of flair to the typical treatment.

The real story however, is cookies! Yesterday, my stand mixer was a very busy appliance as I assembled all of the various cookie doughs. And today, the oven has been on almost non-stop as I baked, shaped, and baked some more. A sampling:

  • Special chocolate chip cookies inspired by a recipe in Martha Stewart Living magazine
  • Brown sugar-pecan shortbread from the book Martha Stewart’s Christmas
  • Chocolate crackle cookies from Alice Waters’ book The Art of Simple Food
  • Old-fashioned peanut butter cookies updated with a drizzle of melted chocolate
  • Eddie’s own recipe: tangerine butter cookies
  • Eddie’s own recipe: maple cream sandwich cookies

Pounds of butter and sugar later…

Oh well, what would Christmas be without homemade cookies and confections?

