This “almost” vegetarian menu features a balance between the sweetness of the potatoes, the slight bitterness of the greens, and the crispy crunch of the pea cakes in order to achieve a nice balance of flavors and textures. And again, I found a way to use up leftovers from earlier in the week—in this case the black-eyed peas. Since they were cooked with a ham hock, I can’t quite classify this menu as vegetarian, thus the “almost.” These are simple as well. Simply mash the drained peas, add a little seasoning if necessary, form into patties, and dredge with bread crumbs. It’s best to chill them until firm…then fry in a combination of oil and butter until crisp and light brown on the outside.

Because I had time today, I made something a little bit different for dessert. During the holidays, I made old-fashioned peanut butter cookies (which I hadn’t made in many, many years). There was still the remainder of that jar of peanut butter, so I decided to get a little creative. See below…

Breaded black-eyed pea cakes shallow-fried until crispy
Baked sweet potato
Braised rapini greens

Peanut butter-chocolate chip cookies and milk

