When I was a child, the only time my Mom ever cooked rice was for breakfast. We ate it alongside the eggs, bacon, toast, etc. My parents and siblings topped their rice with sugar—I always asked for the salt and pepper shakers and added a slice of butter to melt over the top. In fact, that is still my favorite way to eat “plain” rice. No sugar for me!  But tonight’s recipe is far from “plain.” A couple of years ago I discovered something referred to as “rice grits” from Anson Mills in South Carolina. Please visit their website for information about this great ingredient and how to cook it. (By the way, it is perfect with just salt, pepper and butter.) I didn’t have a lot of time to do anything too fancy tonight, so rice grits accompanied by the other components in the menu is my post for today.

Scrambled eggs with peppers, onions, mushrooms, and diced herbed goat cheese
Rice grits topped with crisp-fried organic bacon bits
Toast made from house-made bread

A perfect Valencia orange

