I prepared the beef shanks in the manner that Alice Waters recommends for short ribs in her book The Art of Simple Food, with the exception that I combined everything in the slow cooker before I left for work this morning. The aroma when I opened the door to my home tonight was intoxicating. The nice thing about beef shanks is that you get the added ingredient of the marrow that melts out of the bone, which enriches the sauce. Since the “main dish” was basically done except for finishing off the sauce and the side veggies, this was a simple meal to pull together. And you will probably say, “strawberries again?” And the answer is yes. While wonderful local strawberries are available, I will find any way I can to use them.

Braised grass-fed beef shanks with their braising jus
Smashed potatoes with spring scallions and cheddar
Rapini with garlic and red pepper flakes
Bread Chez Edouard

Chocolate-dipped strawberries

