This menu was created based on my love for a combination of flavors that I first read about in Paul Bertolli’s book Chez Panisse Cooking. In his recipe, he created veal meatballs which were braised with onions, artichoke hearts, olives, and tomatoes and served over fresh pasta. I often make the dish just as he directs but tonight I chose to improvise a bit as you will see below. Turkey is a great substitute for veal, and it helped that I had yesterday off in order to create the pasta from scratch. As much as I try to make each day’s meal unique, I’m afraid this one is very much like the one I proposed back in February. Nevertheless, I offer this again with its slight variation(s).

Ground turkey thigh meatballs with plum tomatoes, artichoke hearts, capers, and yellow peppers braised in the oven with parmesan and served over house-made pasta
Simple salad with raspberry vinaigrette

Vanilla ice cream with crumbled oatmeal-raisin cookies, toasted coconut and a drizzle of melted milk chocolate

 

