Summer is certainly the time to enjoy grilled foods, and one of my favorites is grilled spicy sausages. The additional components make for a balanced set of flavors and juxtapositions on the plate. The macaroni salad is inspired by the one my mother always made. She combined a plethora of different ingredients not found in most traditional recipes for the dish, and when I duplicated her version for my college friends, it was always a bit hit. Of course, Mom never made it the same way twice, and I never have either! Improvisation (using what’s on hand), is the key to success.

Grilled hot Italian sausages, peppers, and onions served with house-made bread
Macaroni salad with pickles, onions, eggs, and cheddar cheese with mayo-mustard dressing
Steamed green beans and corn-on-the-cob

Oatmeal-raisin cookies

