For 11 years, I lived in Detroit, Michigan, and one of my fondest food memories is that of eating a deep-dish pizza from the local neighborhood called Greektown. The pizza was actually more like a Chicago deep-dish in nature, but WOW it was good! The dough was fitted into a deep pan and then the ingredients were layered in way quite opposite of how you would traditionally make pizza. In other words, the cheese is laid down first, then the filling, and the sauce is placed on top.

Greek-style deep-dish pizza with fresh mozzarella, sauteed onions and peppers, olives,
and chunky tomato sauce topped with  Parmesiano Reggiano and herbs from the deck garden

Summer fruit compote of peaches, nectarines, apricots, and blackberries

I really wish WordPress would fix the problems that I am having with copying and pasting my posts from MS Word. Used to be easy, but now I have to double-edit everything…sigh.

