Tonight’s menu (see below), includes a combination of current ideas with a memory from my childhood. To address the latter first, my paternal grandmother always insisted that my mother make coleslaw for the family meal when we visited, saying “Mary Nell, you make the best slaw I’ve ever tasted.” Sitting on the other side of the prep table, I watched as my mother concocted a dish that I never saw her do at home. On one of those occasions I blurted out “Mama, that aint the way you make slaw at home!” She raised her index finger to her mouth to shush me, and continued with her work as my grandmother pulled out ingredients to add to my “mother’s” slaw. There was always a chopped tomato in the mixture, and often some pickle relish. When my Mom and I had a chance to discuss it in private, she related that Grandma was really the one who initiated the components of the slaw…she (Mom) just made it! But to this day, I still love the slaw that was created for those occasions, and I have attempted to replicate it in tonight’s menu.

Pork spare ribs rubbed with spices (coriander, garlic powder, salt, pepper, chili powder, and smoked paprika) roasted in the oven
Mama’s coleslaw for Grandma featuring shredded cabbage, carrots, onions, chopped tomatoes, and sweet pickle relish with a mayonnaise dressing
Baked baby new potatoes
Corn on the cob
A perfect peach from Tigo Orchards

