Among my many creative interests, floral design has always been one of them. In particular, I became inspired many years ago when living in Detroit and was exposed to the creative work of the florist Masako Kondo and met the chief designer. He was gracious enough to teach me the basics and even bought exotic flowers for me to use from the wholesale market as he purchased what he would need for the florist that day.  To my mind, Japanese floral design (Ikebana), is some of the most beautiful “art” that has ever been created. Sure, it is somewhat short-lived, but not if you capture it on film! I created this arrangement for a dinner party a couple of years ago and just found the picture yesterday, so in lieu of a menu tonight, I am sharing this photo.

Have a great weekend everyone!

