A bit over 20 years ago, I was called upon to not only cater the food for my sister’s wedding reception, but also to create the wedding cake, AND to sing at the ceremony. PHEW! This took months of advance planning, preparation, and practice, but as you can see I survived. The menu for the reception involved heavy hors d’oeuvres for 100 guests and included 15 different “nibbles.” While planning the menu, I queried sis about her favorite foods. One of her responses was “pizza.” I toyed with the idea of making little two-inch pizzas, but the logistics of last minute baking and prep was just too much to handle given the scale of the party and everything on my plate. So, I came up with the idea of creating miniature quiches that would have fillings of my sister’s favorite pizza toppings. These could be made ahead, frozen, and reheated at the site of the reception. I suppose folks liked them—there were none left at the end of the evening! Thankfully I’m not making miniature hors d’oeuvre sized versions of this dish tonight. A regular-sized quiche is perfectly fine thank you!

“Pizza” Quiche featuring sauteed onions, red pepper and garlic, diced pepperoni and sun-dried tomatoes, sliced black olives, and mozzarella cheese
Mixed salad greens with red wine vinaigrette

A late night snack of fruit salad

