Growing up in the American South, one of the dishes that was most revered was fried chicken. I guess I wasn’t really a southerner in my soul, because I hated it from the first moment I tasted it! All that “yucky” skin, and all that greasiness! And to this day, I refuse to eat it! But I DO like chicken when it is prepared as I suggest here. There was also another traditional southern dish that I didn’t object to as much…as a matter of fact, I kind-of liked it…long simmered green beans with baby potatoes
and bacon drippings. But the traditional way of preparing that dish was to put
everything in the pot at the same time and cook the beans until they were
practically mushy. Time for an update! My variation doesn’t take less time, but
it does leave the potatoes intact, and the beans at their crisp-tender state of
succulence.

Skinless-boneless chicken breasts dredged in bread crumbs and sauteed in butter and olive oil
Baby Yukon Gold potatoes and green beans simmered in bacon stock*
Steamed carrots

Waldorf salad of apples and grapes

*To prepare the green bean dish: Put a small quartered onion in a large pot with a smashed garlic clove, 2 slices of chopped bacon, a ¼  teaspoon of red chili flakes, and 2 quarts of water. Simmer for 1 and ½ hours.  Add 4 halved Yukon Gold baby potatoes and simmer for 10 minutes until the potatoes (when pierced with a fork), are just
beginning to be tender. Add 1 pound of fresh green beans that have been “topped-and-tailed” and broken into 1-2 inch pieces. Simmer for 8 minutes and remove from the heat. Adjust salt and pepper as desired.

