The following cookies are those where the dough is made ahead but rolled-out and baked shortly thereafter. You then freeze the baked cookies until later. (See my notes under each for the specifics on “how-to.”)

Mint Chocolate Wafer Cookies
The dough for these is made the day before you plan to bake and then rolled out, cut into 2 inch rounds and baked until crisp. At this point, these are stored in a rigid container in the freezer until the finishing treatment of dunking them in melted white chocolate and dusting with crushed candy canes takes place next week.

Gingerbread Cookies
This holiday favorite was in need of an update! I have tried numerous recipes for gingerbread cookies and have never really been satisfied—until now. I developed my own recipe! And, while I made a few (six) traditional gingerbread “boys” the vast majority of this dough was relegated to using my newly purchased pinecone-shaped cutter from downtowndough.com. The “pinecone cookies” (currently stored in the freezer), will eventually be decorated with a royal icing flavored with the same spices (ground cinnamon, nutmeg, and a hint of cloves), that went into the cookie dough. I plan to use a pastry bag with a tiny tip attachment to decorate and accentuate the finished cookies next week.

Peanut Butter Sandwiches
Not what you might think! The traditional dough for peanut butter cookies is updated here by being chilled and then rolled out and cut into same-size rectangles
before baking and then stored in the freezer. The finished cookies will be “sandwiched” with a creamy peanut butter filling. The cookie dough can be made ahead as muchas two days before baking, and the baked cookies last for a long time even at room temperature.

Eddie’s Maple Cream Sandwich Cookies
If you have been following my blog, you know about my earlier post concerning this cookie! Rich with pure maple sugar in the cookie component, and even richer with the filling, it is truly exceptional. It is expensive to make due to the ingredients, and because the recipe I have developed is a “secret” at this point, I can’t share anything more here, however, if enough people ask…well, maybe I will clue you in to some of the aspects of this.

