As the last batch of holiday cookies are baking in the oven, I thought I would share what my family will be enjoying on Christmas Eve. I developed the menu based on the particular likes and dislikes of my family, and tried to be creative along the way to introduce them to new tastes/ideas that I thought they might like. (As an example, we have almost always had Hors d’Oeuvrve-sized beef meatballs for the occasion, but I am inspired to add two additional options proposed by the Simply Recipes website. My sister (Marsha), and my niece (Landree), will be assisting as you will see by some of the offerings attributed to them. But everyone will be involved in the preparation of the annual “party” which is intended to be a substantial “finger food” meal.

 A Trio of Meatballs:
– Beef balls with barbeque sauce
– Turkey balls with cranberry glaze
– Ham balls with pineapple glaze
Miniature smoked pork sausages (“pigs”) in blankets of puff pastry  with mustard dipping sauce
Baked baby potatoes (“petitoes”)  from Huntsinger Farms with sour cream/dill/bacon dip
Marsha’s holiday cheeseball with assorted crackers
Tex-Mex layered bean dip with organic tortilla chips
Eddie’s cayenne-cheddar-sesame shortbread sticks
Marsha’s party mix
Maple sugar-glazed mixed nuts

Marsha’s Christmas Punch

A platter of Landree’s haystack confections and Eddie’s date logs and panuche fudge
An assorted platter of Eddie’s holiday cookies
Fruitcake Chez Edouard

