Spring is what spring is. Only a week or so ago we had temps in the high 80’s but today we are not predicted to rise above the 60 degree mark, so tonight’s menu features items to fight the chill of the day: soup and homemade bread.

While I know I have not posted much recently, I hope you will persevere. I am in the midst of packing for a move and that project is taking up a great amount of time. While I still cook meals every day, I often at this point don’t have time to document them. Today, I’m taking a break to do so. The bread is my rendition/revision of a recipe that my Mother gave me many years ago. I had trouble making it work based on her instructions, but I have come to realize that the rising time was the issue. Because the bread is a softer dough, the amount of time it takes to rise both in the bowl stage as well as the pan stage takes a lot longer than what was suggested in the recipe that Mom shared with me. No doubt she instinctively knew this, but since we never discussed the recipe, she didn’t have the opportunity to share here insights on how to really make it work.

You can find the no-bake cookie recipe (and many variations), all over the web. Easy, quick, and oh so delicious!
Vegetable soup of aromatic vegetables (onions, carrots, and celery), with cabbage, canned organic tomatoes, garlic, potatoes, a diced turnip, and roasted red pepper
House-made yeast cheddar cheese batter bread

No-bake cookies of oatmeal, coconut, cocoa powder, and peanut butter

