This week’s trip to the farmers’ market resulted in finding beautiful baby turnips with their greens still attached and equally enticing small carrots. Meanwhile, my sister’s garden is yielding the first ripe cherry tomatoes, and my father allowed me to once again scratch in his garden to find the tiny new potatoes that I love so much. (Speaking of baby potatoes, have you seen how much the grocery stores charge for the small baskets of these, marketing them as “gourmet”? I have to laugh.) I garnished them with a dollop of sour cream and a light sprinkle of bacon bits, but if you wish to have a truly vegetarian menu, omit the bacon.

The ice cream recipe is my secret. I made it for our Father’s Day feast yesterday and the entire family praised it as the best butter pecan ice cream they had ever eaten.

June 17, 2013

Steamed baby turnips with their greens
Tiny carrot coins glazed with maple syrup and butter
Sea Island red peas from Anson Mills
Boiled new potatoes with sour cream and bacon bits
Sliced cherry tomatoes with crumbled goat cheese and a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil
Cornbread muffins

Eddie’s housemade butter pecan ice cream with brown sugar pound cake

