I will not claim that tonight’s menu is in any way authentic, but it was certainly inspired by Asian flavors and cuisines. I love eggrolls (one of the few things that I deep-fry). As a stuffing I used ingredients I had on hand–ground pork, red peppers, cabbage, spring onions, a farm egg, and bean sprouts–and quickly stir-fried these with soy sauce, sherry, garlic, ginger, hot red pepper flakes, and sesame oil. After the filling is prepared, it’s far more simple to roll these up than most people might imagine. Served with a dipping sauce (or sauces), the rolls are perfectly satisfactory (for me) as the highlight of a main course as opposed to the appetizer status they usually constitute.

Egg rolls filled with pork and vegetables with sweet-and-sour sauce, Chinese mustard, and soy sauce for dipping
Brown rice
Steamed sugar snap peas

Dried pineapple rings

